A Milton Glaser morning

While trolling through the NY Times arts section this morning I came across this 1974 painting by Mohammad Ehsai featured in the show, Iran Modern, at the Asia Society.
Screen Shot 2013-09-07 at 8.02.58 AMIt immediately reminded me of Milton Glaser’s 1966 poster of Bob Dylan, which, when I google-imaged it I got this:
Screen Shot 2013-09-07 at 8.07.33 AMI thought that was kind of funny and Warholesque so then I just searched for Milton Glaser to see what else I could come up with. I found this nice blog called Little Verses which shows excerpts from a 1967 issue of Seventeen magazine featuring art by Milton Glaser which clearly takes off from his Dylan poster.
IMG_1080 milton-glaser-comboThat Dylan poster, that style of graphic illustration was so pervasive in the ’60s and ’70s it does not surprise me that it reached the far shores of Iran.

Further Milton Glaser googling got me to more posters and art that I thought were pretty awesome and inspiring.
michellebrutto_glaser1.jpg?w=450&h=447 milton-glaser-poster 1tomato_012 Milton_Glaser_Calendar_by_b0bisabuilder

This entry was posted in Inspiration for class, Stuff I like. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

