Bike Love

Now that I’m back on my bike after shamefully taking public transportation for 2 months because of the cold/snow/general wussyness I’m now, also, back to being bike obsessed.

Today I’m taking my old horse into my favorite shop, Toga, for a clean up and tune up. Other things I’d like to pick up for my ride are the following:

#1 Loud bicycle horn
Yuba_Loud_Bike_HornCycling on roads can be frightening and dangerous. This horn prevents accidents by alerting motorists with a familiar sound, and gives more people the confidence to travel by bike. I totally want one of these, check out the video and Kickstarter campaign here.

#2: A new bike light
I also lost a key component to my favorite bright bike light and now need a new one. Maybe I’ll get one of these from Light & Motion.
Screen Shot 2014-03-15 at 7.17.21 AM#3 New bike helmet
What I really want is one of these: the Hövding inflatable bike helmet.

Screen Shot 2014-03-15 at 7.44.42 AMI’ve never been reluctant to wear my bike helmet but I’m aware that it’s not really effective in preventing head injuries. The Hövding isn’t available yet in the U.S. but when it is I plan on saving up for one. Yes, I said “saving up,” because it’s pretty expensive: $546! Watch the video and read the WSJ article here, it’s pretty amazing and makes a good case for wearing a helmet like this.

And finally, I found a new magazine to obsess on: Rouleur Magazine—an attractive, well designed, cycling magazine!!! Finally.

rouleur-magazine-issue-45-3 r6 rlr1_cover_dps-copy Rouleur mag 01 rouleur_issue-38-cover_2013 rouleur-33-aug12-cover rouleur-issue-33-cover-art WHATS-INSIDE-THE-RIDER-webAnd finally: is this a logo? Because I really like it.
Screen Shot 2014-03-15 at 7.00.06 AMI found this while obsessing on cycling this morning. I was looking through a lovely cycling site, Rapha, who has a store in the city where you can go this weekend to see Greg LeMond’s bikes and jerseys from his winning Tour de France rides.

This logo is Rapha’s homage to Paris-Roubaix, the Hell of the North. Read more about it here. But I just like the logo . . .

This entry was posted in Bike Love, Stuff I like. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

